I have been using Nextcloud for over a year now. Started with it on Bare Metal, switched to the basic Docker Container and Collabora in its own Container. That was tricky to get running nicely. Now I have been using Nextcloud AIO for a couple of Months and am pretty happy. But it feels a little weird with all those Containers and all that overhead.

How do you guys host NC + Collabora? Some easy and best Solution?

• schizo
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    ·
    1 month ago

Two things, I think, that are making your view and mine different.

First, the value of time. I like self-hosting things, but it’s not a 40 hour a week job. Docker lets me invest minimal time in maintenance and upkeep and restricts the blowback of a bad update to the stack it’s in. Yes, I’m using a little bit more hardware to accomplish this, but hardware is vastly cheaper than my time.

Second, uh, this is a hobby yeah? I don’t think anyone posting here needs to optimize their Nextcloud or whatever install to scale to 100,000 concurrent users that required 99.999999% uptime SLAs or anything. I mean yes, you’d certainly do things differently in those environments, but that’s really not what this is.

Using containers simplifies maintaining and deploying, and a few percent of cpu usage or a little bit of ram is unlikely to matter, unless you’re big into running everything on a Raspberry Pi Zero or something.

• u_tamtam@programming.dev
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      ·
      1 month ago